Brussels – AICEME Youth Pastors Gathering

Sometimes in life there are people that get you. They get your flaws and your desires. They understand, more than others are able, the kinds of things you wrestle with. What does it mean to work in a church knowing that we have our own junk? Things we’re ashamed of. Things we want to rid ourselves of. Things we hope to be.

And sometimes you get to spend the better part of a week with some of these people. In Brussels. With cheap and plenty of beer. With whisky tastings and delicious meals. And most of all with people who just get you.

I left Brussels last week feeling refreshed and ready to begin again with the daily graces of the Spirit of God in the midst of heaviness.

Listen to the song below to guide your viewing.

IMG_3215                    Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetDelirium Cafe… lots of beer, you guys. Just lots of it.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 presetIn an old pub sharing a pint and stories with some beautiful souls.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetLove these people.

 

And upon returning to Paris this has been my prayer the past week.

“Spirit of God, descend upon my heart;
wean it from earth; through all its pulses move;
stoop to my weakness, mighty as thou art,
teach me to love you as I ought to love.

I ask no dream, no prophet ecstasies,
no sudden tearing of this veil of clay,
no angel visits, no opening skies;
just take the dimness of my soul away.

Teach me to feel that you’re ever near by;
teach me the struggles of my soul bear.
To check the rising doubt, the rebel sigh,
teach me the patience of unanswered prayer.”

Leave a Reply

